Books and Literature q & a

Lynsey tagged me in this, it’s hot as fuck right now, I’m sitting in my underpants with nothing better to do, and so here are my responses.

Rules
1. Post these rules.
2. Post a photo of your favorite book cover.
3. Answer the questions below.
4. Tag a few people to pass the Q&A on to.

My favorite book cover: Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein. I loved these poems and I loved the illustrations. Cover is no exception.

What are you reading right now?
The O. Henry Prize stories from 2010 and The Cookbook Collector  by Allegra Goodman. The Cookbook Collector is not good. It’s a modern retelling of Austen’s Sense and Sensibility. I don’t like Sense and Sensibility to begin with, so I don’t know why I thought I would like a retelling.

Do you have any idea what you’ll read when you’re done with that?
I’m waiting on a lot of digital books from the library. Whichever comes in first, which will probably be Looking for Alaska by John Green

What 5 books have you always wanted to read but haven’t got around to? 
When I want to read something, I read it. I don’t have any books waiting on the back burner.

What magazines do you have in your bathroom/lounge right now?
I don’t read while I poop. It’s much less comfortable than other places one could be reading. If I did have a magazine in there, it would be The New Yorker.

What’s the worst book you’ve ever read?
Twilight.

What book seems really popular but you actually hated? 
Twilight.

What’s the one book you always recommend to just about everyone? 
The Harry Potter series. It’s an epic story with such rich and complex characters. I think everyone can be entertained by it and I find it ridiculously enthralling. I once had a friend try to tell me that she hated Harry Potter because all the characters were one-dimensional. I think she’d only seen a movie. Or maybe she’s just an idiot.

What are your 3 favorite poems? 
This question is not fair and is impossible for me to answer. Why only three? I’m listing 11. A nice odd number. Nowhere near the number that I would like to list, but I guess I have to wait for a poetry meme.

  1. Lies I’ve Told My Three Year Old Recently – Raul Gutierrez
  2. The Ubiquity of the Need for Love – Ronald Koertge
  3. Photograph – Andrea Gibson
  4. The Sun Never Says – Hafiz
  5. Untitled – Michael Glaviano
  6. Untitled (In the Slaughterhouse of love) – Jalaluddin Rumi
  7. Catch a Body – Ilse Bendorf
  8. The Straighforward Mermaid – Matthea Harvey
  9. Scheherazade – Richard Silken
  10. The lesson of the moth – Don Marquis
  11. Something Else – Christian Barter

 

Where do you usually get your books?
From the library. If I love it so much that I need to own it, I’ll download it to my kindle.

Where do you usually read your books?
On my kindle. On the couch in my living room. I don’t sleep very well, so I reserve my bed for sleeping purposes only.

When you were little, did you have any particular reading habits? 
Probably.

What’s the last thing you stayed up half the night reading because it was so good you couldn’t put it down?
I stay up late reading books every time I get into the story. I constantly fuck my sleep schedule up because of books; it’s what I’ve always done. Add that to my peculiar childhood reading habits. The most recent time was for The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

Have you ever “faked” reading a book? 
Nah, I admit when I haven’t read or finished a book.

Have you ever bought a book just because you liked the cover?
That’s the only way that I choose books from the library. But I generally don’t buy books unless I’ve already read them and loved them.

What was your favorite book when you were a child?
The Dark is Rising  by Susan Cooper. This is the book that got me into reading in the 2nd grade. It was my gateway drug to reading.The librarian, who was just somebody’s mom who volunteered in the library, wouldn’t let me check it out. She said, “This book looks a little too tough for you, why don’t you try reading something else?” Which pissed me off, even at age eight.

Bitch, please, don’t tell me what I can or can’t read. [Of course it was a little too difficult for me]. Nonetheless I loved it to death.

It’s an epic battle between forces of good and evil with an 11 year old boy as the protagonist. He develops powers on his 11th birthday. Can’t think of why it sounds so weirdly familiar……

It hurts my soul that they made such a ridiculously awful movie out of it. I don’t think it even got released in the U.S., praise the lord.

What book changed your life? 
The Dark is Rising, for the reasons stated above, and probably The Fountainhead, which I read at a very impressionable age. Undoubtedly, I was an insufferable asshole for a while as a result, but it’s an important book in the formation of my ideas about a lot of things, either in agreement or opposition.

What is your favorite passage from a book?
This is from Night of The Avenging Blowfish  by John Welter

I felt exhausted and anxious, which could have been symptoms of some new and culturally fashionable disorder called chronic white guy’s syndrome, or whining fatigue syndrome. It was in the newspapers and on TV, some recently discovered disorder where white people in their mid-twenties and thirties exhibited symptoms of just generally feeling like shit all the time, although shit wasn’t the precise medical term. It had the word “syndrome” in it, so all you had to do was randomly add some adjectives or adverbs to it and there you were with a puzzling and ominous new syndrome such as “being alive syndrome,” which was what I thought I suffered from.
I could use my medical insurance to go to the doctor and say, “Every day I wake up with the same frightening condition.”
“And what’s that?”
“Consciousness.”

Even the Bible announced in the first book that the first thing you could expect in life was trouble, followed immediately by sorrow, and concluding in death. None of this would have mattered except for consciousness. That’s what Adam and Eve got when they ate the apple. So that was my disorder—being aware of my life. And when you fell into the blessed forgetfulness of sleep, it didn’t last. You had to wake up. It was odd that while the Bible said sleep was blessed, it didn’t say the same thing about being awake.

On the notepad on my lap, I started writing a list that I titled “Things That Are Wrong With My Life,” as if by listing my major flaws and problems, I might get a pathetically vague insight into how to live well.

  1. Not sure how many things are wrong.
  2. Is the glass half full, or half empty?
  3. What glass?
  4. Sometimes I drink too much.
  5. Sometimes I drink just the right amount.

Who are your top five favorite authors?
In alphabetical order:
1. Jane Austen
2. Jonathan Safran Foer
3. Neil Gaiman
4. David Sedaris
5. Kurt Vonnegut

What book has no one heard about but should read? 
Night of the Avenging Blowfish. It’s absurdly funny. Also sad and ironic. But always hilarious.

What are your favorite books by a first-time author? 
To Kill a Mockingbird, Everything is Illuminated, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Harry Potter

What 3 books are you an “evangelist” for? 
Harry Potter, Cat’s Cradle, and probably The Fountainhead or Atlas Shrugged.

What is your favorite classic book? 
Persuasion by Jane Austen.

2 thoughts on “Books and Literature q & a

  1. Pingback: Books and literature Q&A « Dressed to Chill

Leave a Reply

