Reasons I don’t want to be a drug addict, as seen in Gia

I’ve had my Netflix account for years and somehow my queue is only getting longer. It has about 300 movies in it, currently. But any time I rate a movie I’ve just watched, I end up adding 5 more to the queue. Essentially, my queue is so long that it takes me several years to see a movie once it gets added to the bottom.

Also, there was a significant delay because I got really pissed off at Netflix when they hiked their prices. How dare they charge me double the money for exactly the same service? I felt like they were playing a game with their customers, trying to see just how much money they could get before people got offended. So I got all self righteous about it and put my account on permanent hold for about 6 months with the end result being that I’m now watching movies that I probably added to my queue in 2009. (I had to reactivate my account; there are just too many movies I need to see).

There are some trends in my selection of movies that make it obvious that I just added every movie they suggested. For a while there I was watching a lot of weird, art-house Spanish movies. Then it was best-supporting actress movies. Now it’s an Angelina Jolie theme, which is clearly a spin-off of the former topic.

[Side note: her A & E Biography is a total joke. Don’t bother watching it. The show ran like writers from In Touch had produced it. Maybe they did. The whole thing was hearsay with all these unlikely people pretending that they knew all her business from high school. Although, the biography did have an actual interview with her father, which just goes to show you that Jon Voight is a pathetic old man.]

Gia is the movie that made Angelina Jolie famous. She’d made a few movies before it, but they all flopped. This was the first movie she did that people respected. It’s an HBO production that was based on the real life story of a supermodel in the early 80’s who was one of the first women to die from AIDS. The acting is pretty good, and I can imagine that if you had never seen Angelina Jolie before, she would bowl you over. She’s young and just unbelievably gorgeous. The script didn’t seem to be that far from her actual life (sans the heroin addiction and AIDS, I’m guessing) and so it’s easy to believe most of the scenes.

I couldn’t help wondering throughout the film whether Angelina has any regrets about Gia.You see her boobs every other scene, and there are a lot of lesbian encounters. I would be embarrassed if I were married and had 87 adopted children if just anyone could go watch scenes of me naked, making out with Elizabeth Mitchell. Angelina probably doesn’t care.

But this movie made me so happy that I wasn’t Gia and that I’m not addicted to drugs for many reasons.

1. Gia destroyed every relationship she had, professionally, by doing drugs on the sets of her photo shoots and showing up too strung out to do her job, and personally, by being a crazy heroin addict. I feel like this is so common with addicts; their behaviors drive everyone away, even the people that love them. The really sick thing was that the photographers and her agents just let her do drugs on the set and no one tried to stop her. Drugs kept her skinny, and heroin chic was in, so who cared if she was killing herself? I suppose this movie also killed my already nonexistent interest in being a model. It doesn’t appear to be a very healthy work environment.

2. The methods involved in doing heroin are awful. If anyone has any doubts about that, refer to the scene in Requiem for a Dream where Jared Leto shoots up into his gangrenous arm. You just want to shout at him, Dude, use the other arm! Gia does the exact same thing. She goes into withdrawal during a photo session and leaves to go shoot up in some derelict back alley without telling anyone.  When she finally makes it back home from a 2-day heroin bender, you can see that she’s shot up in every vein she could find.  I’m sure that heroin feels pretty amazing, but any drug that is eventually going to lead me to insert dirty-ass needles I’ve been sharing with hobos into my arm, thigh, ankles, and toes, I don’t want.

3. Shockingly (this is sarcasm), she got AIDS, and AIDS was ridiculously scary. It’s still scary today, but back then it was a death sentence. She’d already lost all her important relationships, but she lost everyone as soon as they knew it was AIDS. It was early enough in the 80’s that no one understood how the disease worked, and no one wanted to catch it. Her own mother made her go live in a hotel once she was diagnosed.

I can’t imagine having lived in New York then, with all of those people dying so quickly and doctors having no idea what the fuck was going on. The only thing they could tell people was that they were going to die, quickly and terribly. Gia gets pneumonia and then everyone figures out she has AIDS. After that, her own mother won’t even let her come stay with her because of the fear. It’s the saddest thing I’ve seen in a while.

4. I don’t want to be a drug addict because you have to go to really scary parts of town to get drugs, and sometimes the drug dealers beat you up, even though you’re clearly cracked out and also dying of AIDS. The drug dealers beat her up when she had pneumonia! Talk about kicking somebody when they’re down…

5. I’m also glad that I’m not dating a drug addict. Poor Elizabeth Mitchell’s character. Before Gia’s life goes into full downward spiral, she has a pretty cool relationship with her lady friend/ make-up artist. The lady friend gives Gia an ultimatum to pick the drugs or her, and Gia picks the drugs. She picks the drugs—flat out and without second thought. There’s no more efficient way to kill a relationship. Gia also stabs her only friend from before she was famous when he tries to take her to rehab.

So, all in all, being a drug addict does not have a strong positive effect on personal relationships, nor does it do wonders for your career. Unless you are Angelina Jolie portraying a drug addict, in which case it’s your ride to the top.

Leave a Reply

